Figuring Out What “Moderation” Looks Like

My motivation has been all sorts of off the bandwagon this past week!Β We’ve been eating *some* Whole30 since the challenge ended last week — but not so much over the weekend. It was my mom’s birthday on Saturday, and I had a donut for breakfast, a fancy coffee drink in the afternoon, birthday cake for dessert… it was a fun day and it all tasted really good, but then I kept wanting more sugary things as the effects of the previous sugary thing started to wear off. So then that rolled over in to Sunday as well. I had a carb-fest at a friend’s house, haha. Again, it all tasted really good, but by the time I got home that afternoon I realized how sluggish I was feeling. I definitely overdid it.

I’m trying to figure out how to approach this going forward. I’d like to be able to say that food like that is fun in moderation… but what does “moderation” look like? If I have one donut, what’s a good way to manage my cravings when I want another treat when the sugar wears off later?Β Is the sugar crash and resulting temptation later worth the donut? I’m not sure yet. I want to figure out a way to have a sustainable, healthy diet, while still enjoying things and not depriving myself from “treat” food all the time.

My husband has been feeling the same way. We were talking about it last night and both see that we were feeling better while we were more strict on Whole30. “Better” meaning that we had more energy, weren’t as tired, weren’t having tummy issues, didn’t feel bloated, less acne, and we swear we could even think more clearly. So we’re going to hop back to eating more that way while it’s still fresh in our minds, and figure out our limits for special occasions as we go. For sure going to be a work-in-progress.

I’ve also been really struggling to convince myself to go to boxing recently. I’m not sure what that’s all about. I always enjoy it once I’m there, so, I don’t know. I’ve just been craving time at home, I suppose!

Leave a Reply

