Whole30 Day 11, and Talking to New People

Oh man, today was so much better! The Wrath of the Poorly Chosen Taco Bell last night totally reinforced how we *should* be eating and it was a billion times easier to resist temptation today. I was in a meeting that had donuts and pastries all over the place and it was like, nope, not even interested. BOOM.

I went to boxing today too. I hadn’t gone very much these past two weeks; I just didn’t have the energy after work. Makes sense though… my body was adjusting to a new pill and a very different diet than what it was used to. But now things feel like they’re starting to run on a few more cylinders, so I went straight to boxing after work, and it was a blast.

My boxing gym is rubbing off on me in a good way. The people there are the best – everyone is so nice and encouraging, and nobody ever makes you feel bad for not being as “good” as someone else. I need to lose about 100 pounds, so I’m slow and get out of breath fairly easily, and not once has anybody made me feel bad about it. I am not an outgoing person by nature. But then today, a new person came to boxing for the first time, and I was the first to go up to him and introduce myself and whatnot. Depending on your personality, that might not sound like anything notable, but it was like a freaking Kodak moment for me. I don’t think I’ve ever been the first one to introduce myself to someone of my own free will! I usually need someone I already know to do the introducing. Social anxiety can be a pain in the ass like that. But I just wanted him to feel as welcome as I always do there, so I think that overrode my usual anxiety. Making all sorts of progress over here, guys.

Leave a Reply

